Call for applications: The IAA Prize, Fund, and Subsidies

The IAA seeks to support early career scholars within the field of Assyriology and Mesopotamian Archeology. Three funds are now open for applications, and early career scholars can apply for support for short research projects, for conference participation, and for a prize for the best first article written after a completed PhD. Remember that the deadline for all three applications is March 1st, and that all applicants must be members of the IAA. Besides these three, there is also the new IAA Dissertation Prize, for which already 23 dissertations are in competition! The winners will be announced at the General Meeting of the IAA.

Continue reading Call for applications: The IAA Prize, Fund, and Subsidies

Congratulations! The IAA Prize 2016

Courtesy of Giacomo Benati.It is our pleasure to congratulate the two winners of the IAA Prize, Dr. Giacomo Benati and Dr. Andrew Knapp!

The IAA Prize is awarded annually for the best first article written after the PhD in Assyriology or Mesopotamian archaeology. The first place winner receives a stipend of 1000€, while the runner-up winner receives one of 250€. The two winners are announced each year at the General Meeting of the IAA.

Continue reading Congratulations! The IAA Prize 2016

IAA Prize Runner-up

cammarosanoIn second place, Dr. Michele Cammarosano has won the IAA Prize for his article: “The Cuneiform Stylus”. Dr. Cammarosano is associated with the department of Altorientalistik at the University of Würzburg, where he works on the Project “3D-Joins und Schriftmetrologie” under the supervision of G.W. Müller. Continue reading IAA Prize Runner-up

IAA Prize

JimenezThe winner of the IAA Prize 2015 is Enrique Jiménez with his article ‘New Fragments of Gilgameš and other Literary Texts from Kuyunjik’, published in Iraq 76 (2014). Dr. Jiménez: “The article presents the highlights of a quest for new pieces of Babylonian literature that started some years ago, using the British Museum’s catalogue. Continue reading IAA Prize

2014 Winners of Prizes and Grants

Since last year, the IAA and De Gruyter Publications have started two competitions to award promising young researchers: the IAA Prize and the De Gruyter Dissertation Award. Besides these two awards, there is also the Maureen Kovacs Fund, from which every year a financial donation towards a young researcher’s project is provided. The 2014 prize winners and the Maureen Kovacs Fund recipient have been announced during the General Meeting at the Rencontre in Warsaw. Continue reading 2014 Winners of Prizes and Grants

IAA Contests and Awards 2014

At the 2013 Rencontre the names of the first winners of the IAA Prize and of the De Gruyter Dissertation Award were announced (see the Minutes of the meeting). Both competitions have turned out to be very successful, with many young scholars submitting their work for consideration. Continue reading IAA Contests and Awards 2014

IAA Prize Winners

I was rather proud of my article, so I thought: why not see what others think of it!

At the General Meeting during the Rencontre in Ghent this year, not one but two prizes were awarded. Next to the De Gruyter Award, the IAA was proud to present it’s very own IAA Prize, which is given to two up-and-coming Assyriologists that had written the best article after the PhD. First-prize winner was Gabriella Spada (Italy) and Erik van Dongen (Finland) was the runner-up. Twelve papers had been submitted. Continue reading IAA Prize Winners

IAA Initiatives

The IAA is committed to help young Assyriologists all over the world to strengthen their potential in their chosen profession. For instance, there are currently two awards that you are eligible to win! With these awards come nice prizes in the form of grants and publications, so do not hesitate to send in your work! The prizes will be awarded during a special ceremony at the RAI 2013 in Ghent. Continue reading IAA Initiatives